About us Founder Corporate honor development history corporate culture social responsibility

Founder:Dr. QI Youmao

Dr. Qi passed the postgraduate entrance examination of Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences in the year of 1980. Three years later, he became a PhD candidate with the Academician CY Yuan (YUAN Chengye) as his doctoral tutor. In 1986, he started overseas studies in pursuit of more knowledge in chemical world. In the following years, he conducted postdoctoral studies in University of Virginia and then University of California, Davis.

When working in Genelabs Inc., Dr. Qi was directly responsible for new drug research and development. He has obtained more than 10 patents in the field of antiviral, antithrombus, and immunity strengthening drugs, one of which, antibacterial drug GL226, has entered into clinical trials in the US and attracted the attention of the global peers in the pharmaceutical world.

Dr. Qi has gained 22 patents in the US, two of which has entered into clinical trials. However, generic drugs accounted for up to 97% of Chinese pharmaceutical market and China barely has created any new drugs at that time. All patents for invention he has obtained belonged to the US. Worrying about such a big distance between domestic and foreign pharmaceutical industries, Dr. Qi made up his mind to go back to China, his motherland, to create new drugs that really belong to China and to shift the global medical balance with other peers who own the same dream. Since then, the “innovative machine” in Genelabs started his dream of MADE IN CHINA.

关于我们 公司创始人 企业荣誉 发展历程 企业文化 社会责任

创始人:漆又毛博士

1980年进入中科院上海有机化学研究所成为硕士研究生,三年后成为该所袁承业院士的博士研究生,1986年博士毕业后,本着对专业的执着追求,他又开始了他的海外留学之旅,先后在美国弗吉尼亚大学、加州戴维斯大学就读,取得博士后学位。

在美国基因实验室,他直接负责创新药物的研究开发,发明了抗病毒、抗血栓、增强免疫等方面的10多项专利,其中的抗病菌毒新药GL226 在美国进入临床研究,引起了全球同行关注。

在美国,他发明了22项专利,有二个新化合物进入临床研究,而我国97%是仿制药,医药行业还处于仿制阶段。几乎没有自己的新药。他当时所有的发明专利都是属于美国的。看到国内医药行业与国际发展的距离如此之大时,他决心回国,要做属于中国人的新药,要和致力于祖国医药创新的同仁们一起改变新药的世界版图。

从此,这位美国基因实验室的“发明机器”回到祖国,来实现他“中国创造”的梦想。